The ccTLD Constituency Elections August 1999

Notice To all ccTLD Adminstrators, 3 July 1999:

The ccTLD Constituency of the DNSO (Domain Name Supporting Organization) of the ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) will be voting to elect its 3 members to the Names Council of the DNSO.
The vote will be made using a Single Transferable Vote method.

The election will be held according to the following schedule:

July 1 - Official notification that an election will take place by sending and email to the wwTLD list and to the administrative contacts of ccTLDs as determined by a list supplied by Josh Elliot of the IANA.

July 11 - Nominations are open.

List of Candidates

July 25 - The "campaign." Candidates make their statements and try to convince members to vote for them

Candidate Statements

August 8 - Balloting begins

Ballot Instructions

Those who have voted

August 15 - Balloting ends, votes are counted, and winners are appointed.

Returning Officer's results announcement

Summary of STV vote counting calculation

full list of votes cast

Election Committee:

The Balloting and counting will be carried out by the Electoral Reform Balloting Services, an independent body based in the UK.

The Returning Officer

The Returing Officer in these elections is a neutral and trusted individual appointed to oversee election procedures and vote counting. It is his job to announce the election results, when he is satisfied that proper procedures have been followed.

The Administrative Committee are pleased to announce that Larry Landweber has agreed to act as Returning Officer in these elections. Larry Landweber is professor of Computer Science at the University of University of Wisconsin-Madison in the United Stated. For many years, he has been actively involved in the development of the international academic Internet and helped establish the first network gateways betwen the US and countries in Europe and Asia. He is well known internationally for the "Landweber" meetings promoting international networking in the 1980's. These meetings became the INET meetings.